Thursday, March 29, 2012

Love Languages

This morning, I have finished reading "The Five Love Languages" by Gary Chapman.  Pick up this book and read it.  This is not a complicated or lengthly read.  Anyone could get through this one in short order. I especially recommend it for those who are married.

The five ways to express or receive love according to Mr. Chapman are Quality Time, Words of Affirmation, Receiving Gifts, Physical Touch and Acts of Service.  I think my way of expressing and receiving love is through some combination of Quality Time and Acts of Service.  However, I think we would all be better off if we recognize the five ways in which a person can express love.  Complaining that your spouse doesn't love you because they don't sit on the couch with you every night gazing deep into your eyes.  Look at what your spouse doing.  Maybe he or she is serving you by cleaning dishes, vacuuming, and balancing the check book.  Maybe he or she is working long hours in order to have the money to purchase a meaningful gift.  Those too are expressions of love.  People have to become more aware of the ways people express love and assume the best.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Please leave a comment.